Executive team

Day-to-day leadership of the organisation is undertaken by our executive team

David Wells MSc FIBMS CSci Hon DSc FRCPath (Hon)
IBMS Chief Executive

In June 2021, David Wells was appointed as the IBMS Chief Executive.

In his previous role, David led the NHS England and NHS Improvement Pathology consolidation programme - tasked with delivering efficient, high quality pathology services across England.

David has been recognised as one of the most powerful advocates for pathology in the global community by The Pathologist magazine, featuring in their Power List top 100 every year since 2018.

As Head of Pathology at NHS England, David was responsible for leading the laboratory response to COVID-19, managing the technology deployment, funding and workforce.

He was also tasked with ensuring all capacity requirements were met, advising ministers by providing policy and strategic direction, and helping the government to achieve their goal of delivering 100,000 COVID-19 tests per day in April 2020.

In recognition of his COVID-19 response work and for transforming England’s pathology services, the Royal College of Pathologists (RCPath) awarded him an Honorary Fellowship in 2020 and Anglia Ruskin University presented him with the Alumni Frontline Service Award in 2021.

In July 2022, David was appointed onto the Science Council Board of Trustees. 

IBMS background

Starting his work for the IBMS in 2008, David became a Specialist Portfolio Assessor for Clinical Chemistry. In 2009, he became a Special Advisory Panel Member for Clinical Chemistry, later becoming Deputy Examiner for the specialism from 2011 to 2015.

David served as an IBMS Council Member for the London Region in 2015, where he served for six years following two elections. In 2020, he was elected as the Chair of the Membership and Marketing Committee.

David has also represented the IBMS on The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) diagnostic advisory panels and various national forums, including an observer on the RCPath Council and in the Parliamentary and Science committee.

Executive team

Sarah May
Deputy Chief Executive
Sue Jones
Executive Head of Education
Mark Finnie
Executive Head of Finance
Lynda Rigby
Executive Head of Marketing and Membership
Peter Smith
Executive Head of Operations